firehouse pizza banner

Fields, Fugate, Brosnan, Ward win countywide races; Moore new 5th District Magistrate with 14-vote win

Mostly familiar faces along with one newcomer  were successful at the polls yesterday as Butler County voters cast their ballots for several offices.  The May 20 Republican Primary Election resulted in wins for incumbents Judge-Executive David Fields, Sheriff Scottie Ward, and Jailer Terry Fugate.  Suzanne Brosnan defeated former PVA Richard Embry in the race for Property Valuation Administrator.  Incumbent PVA Angie Pendley was not seeking reelection.    

Butler County Fiscal Court saw one change in its makeup as challenger Bobby Moore (270) defeated incumbent Keith Daugherty (256) and challenger Lonnie Garner (118).

The most anticipated races were arguably for the four countywide offices of judge-executive, sheriff, jailer, and PVA. Judge-Executive David Fields fended off a challenge fromRichie Bratcher.  Fields garnered 1,585 votes (54%) to Bratcher's 1,348 votes (45.9%).  Fields, a Republican, will face Independent candidate Joey Franzell in the November General Election. 

Sheriff Scottie Ward cruised to victory with 83% of the vote in his race against challenger Bobbie Hooten.  Ward received 2,421 votes to Hooten's 495 votes.

In the race for Butler County Jailer, incumbent Terry Fugate was able to hold back challenger Ricky Romans, a former deputy jailer, by a margin of 275 votes.  Fugate received 1,607 votes (54.6%), while Romans tallied 1,332 votes (45.3%).

In the office with no incumbent running, Suzanne Brosnan recorded a comfortable win over Richard Embry.  Brosnan received 1,840 votes (62.7%) to Embry's 1,094 votes (37.2%).

Butler County Fiscal Court will see the return of four familiar faces.  Incumbent Stevie Givens defeated challenger Doug Odle, 298 to 178, in the First District.  Incumbent Johnny Tuck cruised to reelection with 428 votes in the Second District.  Dale Willis received 135 votes and Mike Dodson got 35 votes.

In the Third District, incumbent magistrate Chad Tyree defeated former magistrate Curtis Allen Smith by a margin of 405 to 290.  Incumbent David Whittinghill, in the Fourth District, defeated challenger Richard West, 314 to 198.  


Brandon Dockery won the race for First District Constable, defeating Stephen Sublett, 238 to 162.

In the Fifth District Constable race, Jody Henderson was easily reelected with 487 votes.  Challenger Andy Perrin received 109 votes.   

The statewide race for United States Senate saw predictable results in Butler County.  Republican incumbent Mitch McConnell received 57.4% of the vote (1,647) to defeat Matt Bevin, who got 1,076 votes, or 37.5%.  

Democrat Alison Lundergan Grimes, who is the Kentucky Secretary of State, received 257 votes in the county (82.3%) to easily outdistance her opponents.  Republican McConnell and Democrat Grimes will square off in the November General Election.  

William (Bill) Cox (Madisonville) won Butler County with 161 votes in the Democratic Primary for the 6th Senatorial District.  Cox, former mayor of Madisonville, will face off against State Rep. C.B. Embry, Jr. in the November General Election.  The 6th Senatorial District is comprised of Butler, Muhlenberg, Hopkins, and Ohio counties.  


Bookmark and Share