firehouse pizza banner
jones banner
chamber banner

Campbellsville University honors 217 teachers in 76 districts and/or private schools, including teachers in Butler County

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – Campbellsville University’s 34th annual Excellence in Teaching Award Program Ceremony was canceled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

However, 217 teachers received the Excellence in Teaching Award from 76 districts and/or private schools in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Twenty-two of the teachers have Campbellsville College or University degrees and nine teachers are National Certified Teachers.

Dr. Donna Hedgepath, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said, “The Excellence in Teaching program is one of our most meaningful tributes to Kentucky teachers.

“Teachers deserve recognition for pouring themselves into the lives of our P-12 students. Teachers not only serve students in the classroom, but they make profound impacts in their students’ personal lives and on their future. 

“I am honored to have the opportunity to recognize the best of the best in education!”

Hedgepath, herself a teacher and university professor for several years, would have been present for the ceremony, along with Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the School of Education.

            Allen said, “During this time of pandemic, teachers have had to be creative and flexible problem solvers in delivering relevant, timely instruction to their students.  

“The teachers who are EIT recipients this year have and will continue to find innovative ways to lead, to teach and to help students succeed regardless of the learning challenges presented by COVID 19. 

“I am sorry that this year, we are unable to have our usual celebration to honor them. I am proud of these teachers who continue to shape the future for all of us regardless of circumstances.”  

A total of 4,163 Kentucky teachers have been honored since the program began in 1987  with assistance from Earl Aaron and the Ward, Cundiff and Aaron Memorial Fund. The purpose of the program is to recognize the quality teaching and learning taking place in the school systems throughout Kentucky. 

            The Excellence in Teaching Awards program is in partnership with Lexington’s CBS-affiliate, WKYT-TV.

            The teachers are selected by their school districts in each grade level (preschool/elementary, middle and high school).

            The 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients include the following with their superintendent listed first:

Butler County -- Scott Howard, superintendent; Linda Amos, Morgantown Elementary School; Renea Hunt, Butler County Middle School; and Amy Deweese, Butler County High School.

            Amos, of Morgantown, Ky., has taught 1st, 3rd and 4th grade at Morgantown Elementary School since 2000.

            She received her Bachelor of Arts in 2000, as well as her Master of Arts in 2007, both from Western Kentucky University. Amos is a 1991 graduate of Grayson County High School.

            She is the daughter of Mary Anne and Melvin Edward Bowles of Morgantown, Ky. She is married to Darrell Wayne Amos, and they have three children: Cory, Jeff and Michael Bratcher.


            Hunt, of Morgantown, Ky., teaches 8th grade reading at Butler County Middle School. She formerly taught 8th grade language arts at Green River Youth Development Center from 2009 until 2018. She has taught in Butler County since 1986.

            She received her Bachelor of Arts in 1985 and her Master of Arts in 1991 from Western Kentucky University. She is a 1980 graduate of Butler County High School.

            She is the daughter of Corene and Lonnie Snodgrass. She is married to Doyle Bradley Hunt, and they have two children, Whitney Alaine Hunt Pinkerton and Dana Bradley Hunt.

            Deweese, of Morgantown, Ky., has taught at Butler County High School since 2009. She formerly taught at Green River Boys Bamp from 2004 until 2009 and at the Render Education Center from 1999 until 2004.

            From Western Kentucky University, she received her bachelor’s degree in 1999 and her master’s degree in 2005. She is a 1989 graduate of Thornwood High School of South Holland, Ill.

            She is married to Darrell Deweese, and they have three children: Virginia, Clayton and Victoria Deweese.


The 2020 Excellence in Teaching Committee included: Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the Campbellsville University School of Education; Elizabeth Franklin, secretary to the dean, School of Education; Lisa Kirtley, data specialist; Natasha Nall, graduate secretary for the School of Education; Dominic Sanfilippo, early childhood program secretary, and Alice Steele, clinic support specialist.

Campbellsville University is a widely acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 11,900 students offering over 100 programs of study including Ph.D., master, baccalaureate, associate, pre-professional and certification programs. The university has Kentucky based off-campus centers in Louisville, Harrodsburg, Somerset, Hodgenville and Liberty with instructional sites in Elizabethtown, Owensboro and Summersville. Out-of-state centers include two in California at Los Angeles and Lathrop, located in the San Francisco Bay region. The website for complete information is

Campbellsville University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates, associate, baccalaureate, masters and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the status of Campbellsville University.

 By Scarlett Birge, student news writer, and Joan C. McKinney, director, Office of University Communications





Bookmark and Share