firehouse pizza banner
jones banner

BREAKING: Merritt & Meredith to join Morgantown City Council; Price elected to Board of Ed.

New city council members Allen Meredith and Dionne Merritt

Dionne Merritt and Allen Meredith  will be joining four incumbents - Sharon Johnson (Phelps), Terrell House, Russell Givens, and Gary Southerland - as members of a new Morgantown City Council that will take office in January.  Current council member Rick Scott did not seek reelection.      

According to unofficial vote totals released by the Butler County Clerk's office for the city's two precincts (East Morgantown and West Morgantown) and absentees, Sharon Johnson led the ticket with 459 votes.  Incumbents Terrell House garnered 436 votes; Russell Given tallied 434; and Gary Southerland notched 433.

The two new members - Dionne Merritt and Allen Meredith - received 384 vote and 307 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Edra Dean Hampton fell short in her bid for a second term with 264 votes.  

Rounding out the field were Harold Ray West with 298 votes; Adam Williams 194; Casey Turci 175; and Todd Meredith 166. 

In the race for a seat on the Butler County Board of Education for the First District, Charles Price received 329 votes, defeating Leslie Turci, who tallied 195 votes.

Stay connected to Beech Tree News and WLBQ 1570 AM for the latest in local political coverage.


 Unofficial Totals for Butler County:
Total Number of Voters 5,114  58% voter turn out
President/Vice President:
Romey/Ryan             3,716
Obama/Biden            1,293
Stein/Honkala                  6
Terry/Smith                    13
Johnson/Gray                 30
Goode/Clymer                  2
U.S. Representative 2nd Congressional District
Guthrie, Brett              3,809
Williams, David L.          970
Beacham, Andrew            84
Astor, Craig                    45
State Representative 17th District
C.B. Embry                 4,367
Commonwealth Attorney
Timothy Coleman       4,149
Circuit Clerk
Melissa Cardwell         4,370
Board of Education:
1st District
Charles Price                 329
Leslie Turci                    195
2nd District
Deborah Hammers          818
5th District
Karen Evans                    645
Rochester: Mayor Horace Hammers,49
Michael Porter, City Council 39
Woodbury: Mayor Foy Gabbard, 31
City Commissioners
Alan Johnson 24
Vickie House  32
Constitutional Amendment
Yes       3,882
No           377


Thank you for giving me the opportunity to work for the citizens of Morgantown. I truly appreciate your vote and I look forward to working with everyone. I love my community and will do what's best for Morgantown. I encourage everyone to please come to the meetings. They are the second Thursday of every month at 6 at the Eva J. Hawes Community Building.

Bookmark and Share