E & D Storage
firehouse pizza banner
farm Boy Maintenance

Bears to Host Metcalfe Co. in Season Opener

MORGANTOWN - The 2018-19 boys' high school basketball season will tip off locally as Butler County hosts Metcalfe County in a non-district matchup on Monday.

Butler County, under the direction of head coach Calvin Dockery, concluded the 2017-18 season 11-14. Grayson County eliminated Butler County from the 2018 12th District Boys' Basketball Tournament, outlasting the Bears 47-43 in the quarterfinals.

Senior Jaden Hurt (6-3) and junior Parker Rice (6-5) are the top two scorers back for the Bears. Hurt averaged 7.5 points per game for  Butler County during the 2017-18 season. Ranking fourth in scoring for the Bears last season, Rice averaged 9.5 points per game for the Bears. Both Hurt and Rice are forwards.

Leading inside, Rice and Hurt ranked as Butler County's top two rebounders during the 2017-18 season, claiming over six caroms apiece for the Bears. 

Butler County lost the talented trio of Will Moore (21.7 ppg), Brennan Grubb (12.0 ppg) and Caleb Beasley (11.9 ppg) to graduation. Moore was among the top scorers in the Third Region last season.

In a quick turnaround, Butler County is slated to visit Glasgow for another early-season boys' high school basketball game on Tuesday, Nov. 27. 

Metcalfe County ended the 2017-18 season 4-25. The Hornets lost to Clinton County in the 16th District Boys' Basketball Tournament quarterfinals. 

Under the direction of first-year head coach Brandon Brockman, Metcalfe County posted its most wins in a single season since the 2011-12 campaign.

Five seniors are back to lead the Hornets. Metcalfe County's group of returning players includes leading scorer Tyler London. A senior forward, London averaged 11.4 points and 4.8 rebounds per game for Metcalfe County as a junior during the 2017-18 season. 

The Bears pulled away to defeat Metcalfe County 78-52 in a 2017-18 season opener. 

Tip-off for the latest Butler County-Metcalfe County boys' basketball game is slated for 7:30 p.m. on Monday. 


Bookmark and Share