BtN Promo
firehouse pizza banner

BCMS students take top awards at WKU Bridge Building Competition

2018 Bridge Building Team L-R: First Row -Savannah Coin, Taylor Leach, Brooklyn Smith, Jayden Jenkins; L-R: Second Row - Caleb York, Lita Litten, Jameson Findley: Top Row - Bridge Building Coach Dennis McCrocklin

On Saturday, March 3rd,  the 23rd annual Regional Bridge Building Competition was held at the WKU Center for Research and Development in Bowling Green.  This year's competition featured 2 area schools and 14 qualifying contestants.  Seven students from Butler County Middle School entered bridges in the middle school division. 

Butler County Middle School students placing in the top three and receiving plaques were:. Jameson Findley ( 1st place with an efficiency of 840.76); Savannah Coin (2nd place with an efficiency of 676.32); and Brooklyn Smith (3rd place with an efficiency of 581.81).  Other B.C.M.S. students with qualifying bridges were:  Caleb York (5th place with an efficiency of 307.05); Jayden Jenkins (8th place with an efficiency of 239.58); Lita Litten (9th place with an efficiency of 232.00); and Taylor Leach (12th place with an efficiency of 128.71).  Efficiency is determined by dividing the load the bridge will hold by the weight of the bridge. 

 2018 Architectural Design Winner:  Taylor Leach

For the elegance, innovative and ingenious design of a bridge, two Architectural Design plaques were awarded.  Taylor Leach received the 1st place plaque in this category.  

"The process of designing and building a bridge, under precise specifications, is a learning experience for the students-especially those interested in a future in engineering," said Dennis McCrocklin, coach of B.C.M.S. bridge building team.  "Congratulations to all students who put in the additional time and effort necessary to participate in this competition."

2018 Top Three Efficiency Winners L-R: 1st Place- Jameson Findley; 2nd Place- Savannah Coin; 3rd Place- Brooklyn Smith

This was Butler County Middle School's 19th year to participate in this competition.  Sponsors were Ogden College of Science and SKy Teach. 




Bookmark and Share