firehouse pizza banner
jones banner
aberdeen bap 2021

BC Farm Bureau hosts annual awards dinner

On Tuesday night, September 14, 83 years of Butler County Farm Bureau were celebrated at the Butler County Extension Office.

President Gregory Drake II welcomed everyone to the meeting. Vice-President Woody Moore gave the invocation and blessed the meal. After the dinner, President Drake introduced the guests: State Farm Bureau Directors Mitchell Logsdon, Larry Thomas, Ray Allen Mackey. County elected officials Judge-Executive Tim Flener, 5th District Magistrate Dillon Bryant, PVA Suzanne Brosnan, and County Court Clerk Sherry Johnson.

This year's scholarship recipients are Emily Kelly of Butler County High School, who is attending Western Kentuck University (WKU) and majoring in agribusiness.  The college winner is Mattie Wells. She is also attending and is majoring in elementary education.

Young Farmer Chairman Caleb Smithson presented Dillon Bryant with the Young Farmer of the Year Award.

Betty Farris, past president of Butler County Farm Bureau, presented the Distinguished Service to Butler County Farm Bureau to Joe Rogan.

Patrick Daugherty, Past President of Butler County Farm Bureau, presented the Distinguished Service to Butler County Agriculture to Cynthia Fields.

Drew Graham, Executive Director, spoke about Covid and Zoom meetings.

Nominations for the reelection of Butler County Farm Bureau Directors were: Woody and Margaret Moore, Robert and Amanda Taylor, Gregory and Shanna Drake, Darren and Amy Rice, Shane and Felicia Wells, Gigi and Pam Rose, Caleb and Amelia Smithson, Don and Barbara Sullivan. In addition, President Greg Drake and Vice President Woody Moore were re-elected.

Amelia Smithson won the grand door prize winner.


Bookmark and Share